• Back to Homepage
  • Doogie's LITTER KWITTER Forums - The Place for Cat Toilet Training  
    Old July 11th 2008, 01:39 PM
    Site Admin

Default 2 cats now on green stage

I have two cats, Papi (Poppy) and Nia, that are about 2 years old now. I started training them on the Litter Kwitter a few months ago. They had absolutely no issue with the red disk and I was so thrilled that I had absolutely convinced myself this would be a breeze (big mistake! - it only led me to be more disappointed when I encountered issues with the amber stage).

Because I was so sure my cats were geniuses, and I got a little too excited, I did rush a bit going to the amber stage. Unfortunately, my cats didn't take to it as quickly, and I woke up at 4:30 am to Papi urinating all over me. NOT FUN! So I switched right back to the red stage for about 3 more weeks. When I returned to the amber, they still didn't take to it, but at least I didn't get peed on again. Nia was fine urinating in the amber disc immediately but we had about a week of accidents with her defecating elsewhere (her favorite spot in the kitchen pantry, which thankfully was easily cleaned since it wasn't carpet). Finally I began taking her into the bathroom and sitting her on the toilet when it was near her normal bathroom time (I didn't lock her in as I was afraid it would traumatize her, and I didn't want her to be scared of the bathroom) and eventually (with a lot of love and patience), she got the hang of it. She did have a few accidents after that, but never two days in a row, and she's now been using it without any mishap for about three weeks. Papi had a harder time than Nia taking to it right away (urinating and defecating elsewhere) for a couple weeks, but after he started using it, he had no more relapses.