• Back to Homepage
  • Doogie's LITTER KWITTER Forums - The Place for Cat Toilet Training  
    Old September 11th 2008, 05:52 AM
    Site Admin

Default Training Sammie

Hi! I'm an old pro with cats, but new with toilet training one. I'm just tired of litter boxes and after a break from cats for a few years (I got sick during a pregnancy and could not care for them) I knew I wanted to get rid of the cat box with our newest family member. It was my intention not to have a litter box in the house and just train him to go outside when he needed to go.

Sammie came from a home where he was an indoor/outdoor kitten, but he wasn't yet old enough for his rabies shots and we live way out in the wilderness. I decided to keep him in for a couple of weeks until he could get his vaccination, so I bought a small litter box.

Well, now our little bugger refuses to go outside. He acts like he's never been outside and has no interest in going outside ever. So I decided to get the Litter Kwitter to solve our litter box problem.

I have high hopes for Sammie. He's already interested in the toilet, jumping up and even drinking out of it (the dirtier the better in his opinion - TOTALLY GROSS!!! in my opinion - I'm hoping leaning to use the toilet breaks that nasty habit) and he always follows us into the bathroom so is quite used to the flushing and running water.

He's also pretty receptive and seems to learn quickly. He knows not to get on the coffee table or end tables in the living room and gets off the counter quickly when I clap and say "get down" in a firm tone. He comes when called and is very gentle when playing, being careful not to use his claws when play attacking his human family members. He also knows to back off if one of the kids cries out or if one of the adults says, "ouch" even in a calm tone.